What is the best advice you have for transitioning from student to young adult life?

I have recently graduated college and am making the transition into my professional life. What are some good tips you have for making the transition easier?

Here's what I wish someone would have told me the first time I graduated (I ended up going back for my MA so I've had to go through this twice lol):
  • Make sure you maintain a set schedule. You're used to a structured life when you're in college. You have classes and study times regimented. Whether or not you have a job, make sure you still figure out your schedule. It'll help you make sure you feel like you have a purpose and aren't rolling around in limbo. This was probably my biggest mistake when I first graduated from undergrad. I didn't have a regiment and I had a lot of trouble because of it.
  • If you're applying for jobs, make sure you keep a spreadsheet of where/when you've applied and the status of your application. This will help you track when you can/should reach out again to see how your application is going.
  • Keep up with your hobbies. It's easy to feel guilty about doing things you enjoy when you're not in school anymore, but regardless of whether you have a job or are searching for one you need to make sure to take care of your mental health by having an outlet.
  • If you have time, learn how to cook more things. Eating healthy is really important and it'll make you feel good.
  • Don't feel discouraged if you're rejected from a lot of jobs. The market is really tough right now. A recruiter once told me that for every five rejects you might get one consideration. This is especially true if you're in a competitive field. Just keep trying and eventually, you'll get something.