What's new

Want to learn 6 languages...

katz91

So, I have interest in several languages: Japanese, Arabic, Farsi, Hebrew, Spanish, and French....but I feel like it is impossible to learn all of them. I am 33 and have a full time job. Do you have any tips? I know that ultimately, I will probably just have to choose, but, I want to learn them all for different reasons (most of them literature related).

Edzky_18

Hi!
I think you really need to learn and focus one at a time at least until you got a B+ status in one language. I'm also full-time working mom of two but I see to it that I was able to open duolingo and browse through my spanish vocabulary notebook in a day. I've seen others who do the flash cards and podcast, and i think I might also do that in the future if time permits. I'm a beginner self-learner of Spanish and as of now I'm on the process of enriching my Spanish vocabularies so my partners are my vocab notebook, duolingo, english-spanish dictionary app, and I joined a language learning community site where I could personally chat or talk with native Spanish members.

nature_boy

As much as I'd like to learn ALL the languages right now, I'm going to agree with Edzky_18 on this one. Perhaps some people can take on multiple languages at once and be able to absorb everything in no time. I'm sure these people exist, but I am not one of them. I can say that I've had way more success when I pick one language and stick to it (using duolingo, mango, community education classes). Learning a new language is just memorization. If you can carve out 15 minutes at the beginning or end of your day (for me, it's the beginning because my brain is fresh and more alert) then I'm sure you'll notice significant progress.

katz91