Has there ever been a course that has changed your life?

Jul 22, 2018
As a college student I often find that with the money I am paying for my tuition, I need one of these classes to help me become a better, wiser, and more informed person in the universe. Out of the five courses I take a semester, I find that usually one or two really stick with me. This past semester, I was fortunate enough to take a course that has helped shape my vision of the world. It was a course on Urban Journalism with about 10 people in the class. By the time I completed the course I felt like I saw the world in a different light and was certainly more appreciative of the journalists that help keep its fellow citizens informed. Now this has been one college course out of about 19 I've taken thus far. Not to say I haven't enjoyed many of my classes but I have found that truly amazing courses are hard to find. Has anyone taken a course that has had the same impact or a bigger one?

I'm now a senior in college, and out of hundreds of credits completed, I actually haven't found more than a couple of classes that stood out for me or seemed worth my time. The first is a social work class that I actually branched out and chose as an elective as a sophomore, which had nothing to do with me as a Mass Communication major.